Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Korn frontman posts three new songs online

By Emily Zemler/Myspace
Korn recently announced that they are currently working on tracks for their 10th full-length album. The band said they will begin recording in April, however frontman Jonathan Davis has now posted three new songs online. It’s unknown whether these songs are intended for Korn’s new album or Davis’s promised solo disc.

The three tracks, “Final Days,” “Happiness” and “Medicate,” are fairly well-done demos, with full instrumentation. None of them would sound out of place on a Korn disc, however there’s some speculation that Davis is finally working on his debut solo record so these may be for that release. Davis has played numerous solo shows and released a live solo album, Alone I Play, in 2008, but has yet to put forth an actual record.

Last month, Korn guitarist James “Munky” Shaffer said in an interview, “We went into the studio a couple of months ago, wrote some songs, Jonathan demoed the songs on his computer, and then we took them into the studio and played them live and tweaked them a little bit.”

So are these the new Korn songs or Davis’ solo work? In the past, Davis has described his solo work as “Peter Gabriel-esque type music” so you be the judge. Listen to the tracks here.

Korn has also been confirmed as a headliner for this year’s Rock on the Range festival, which will also feature Disturbed and Stone Sour. The fest, which will take place May 21 and 22 at Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio, will boast a total of 40 acts.

No comments:

Post a Comment