Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Beck’s 20-minute Philip Glass remix, “NYC: 73-78″

MICHAEL ROFFMAN/Consequence of Sound

Beck’s 2012 space odyssey continues with his latest foray: a 20-minute remix of Philip Glass titled, “NYC: 73-78″. The track comes off the previously announced all-star compilation, Rework: Philip Glass Remixed, assembled by Beck himself and producer Hector Castillo in honor of the composer’s 75th birthday.

For his entry, Beck pieced together more than 20 Glass compositions, ranging from his 1998 chamber opera Monsters of Grace to his soundtrack work on 2002′s The Hours.

“When listening to pieces from all the different eras of Philip Glass’ work,” Beck wrote NPR in an email, “it felt like there was a continuum — an accretion of harmonic ideas that built over time into a larger, less definable work.”

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed features contributions from Dan Deacon, Amon Tobin, Memory Tapes, Tyondai Braxton, etc. and hits stores October 23rd. Consult the full tracklist below and stream Beck’s contribution at NPR.

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed Tracklist:
Disc 1
01. My Great Ghost: Music in Twelve Parts, Part 1
02. Tyondai Braxton: Rubric (Remix)
03. Nosaj Thing: Knee 1 (Remix)
04. Dan Deacon: Alight Spiral Ship (Philip Glass Remix)
05. Amon Tobin: Warda’s Whorehouse Inside Out Version
06. Silver Alert: Etoile Polaire: Little Dipper
07. Memory Tapes: Floe ’87 (Remix)
08. Cornelius 3: Opening From Glassworks

Disc 2
01. Beck: NYC: 73-78
02. Jóhann Jóhannsson: Protest (Remix)
03. Pantha du Prince: Mad Rush Organ (Remix)
04. Peter Broderick: Island (Remix)

No comments:

Post a Comment