Thursday, March 14, 2013

Yeah Yeah Yeahs Unleash Four New 'Mosquito' Tracks at SXSW

Marc Hogan/Spin

Yeah Yeah Yeahs have revealed a bit more of their upcoming album, Mosquito, due out on April 16 via Interscope (it's one of SPIN's 50 Albums You Gotta Hear in 2013, naturally). AsPitchfork points out, the New York band played a handful of new songs last night during their appearance at NPR's Stubbs showcase during South By Southwest, and they were captured on the decent-quality video above. Along with cathartic, gospel-boosted single "Sacrilege," the YYYs performed the tribal blood-sucker "Mosquito," the slower, moodier "Under the Earth," and, slowest of all, the languidly yearning "Subway." Karen O was captivating and looked every bit the part of the frontwoman in a flamboyant, preacher-meets-bullfighter getup.

The music starts around the six-minute mark; check out the full set list below, as reported by

Yeah Yeah Yeahs, March 13, 2013 - Austin, TX @ SXSW set list
1. "Mosquito"
2. "Cold Light"
3. "Under the Earth"
4. "Art Star"
5. "Gold Lion"
6. "Zero"
7. "Subway"
8. "Maps"
9. "Sacrilege"
10. "Cheated Hearts"
11. "Miles Away"
12. "Heads Will Roll"

No comments:

Post a Comment