Thursday, January 16, 2014

Arcade Fire, Karen O nominated for 2014 Academy Awards

Consequence of Sound Staff

The nominees for the 2014 Academy Awards were announced this morning, and Arcade Fire, Yeah Yeah Yeahs singer Karen O, and Owen Pallett all received nominations.

Arcade Fire and Pallett were nominated for Best Original Score for their work on Spike Jonze’s Her. Meanwhile, Karen O’s “The Moon Song”, also from Her, received a nod for Best Original Song.

Other nominees in the Best Song category include Pharrell Williams’ “Happy” (Despicable Me 2) and U2′s “Ordinary Love” (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom), which already won the Golden Globe in the same category.

Interestingly enough, Alexander Ebert’s score for All is Lost did not receive a nomination despite winning the Golden Globe. M83 (Oblivion), Underworld’s Rick Smith (Trance), and Mike Patton (The Place Beyond the Pines) were also on the longlist, but failed to receive nominations.

Songs from David Grohl’s Sound City, BeyoncĂ©’s “Rise Up” from Epic, Jay Z’s “100$ Bill” from The Great Gatsby, and Ron Burgundy’s “Doby” from Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues were all on the longlist for the the Original Song nomination, but didn’t make it through the ballots.

Winners will be announced on March 2nd. For a full list of nominees, click here.

Below, listen to portions of Butler and Pallett’s score for Her and Karen O’s “The Moon Song”.

No comments:

Post a Comment