Thursday, May 29, 2014

Peter Murphy’s new album Lion

Consequence of Sound Staff

Former Bauhaus frontman Peter Murphy will release his 10th solo album, Lions, on June 3rd via Nettwerk Music Group. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full below (via Rolling Stone).

The follow-up to 2011′s Ninth spans 11 tracks and was co-produced by Killing Joke bassist Youth. According to a press release,Lion “possesses an elegant master of tone – bass heavy, stark, shimmering and symphonic. It sustains a heart-in-throat tension from start to finish.”

In an interview with Billboard last May, Murphy called the album “a mixture of stuff…almost like operas for the dispossessed. It’s very romantic and very deep and emotional, quite symphonic in places, but then becomes, like, a rabble-rousing pirate sea shanty.”

He added, “It’s a mixture of The White Album, ‘which goes into ‘Helter Skelter,’ and kind of ‘I Am the Walrus’ type of arrangement stuff. It’s a lot — kind of like, ‘Who is that person? How can he imagine he can do all that?’ I just think I’m out of place, really. I’m like [David] Bowie, Iggy [Pop], Frank Sinatra, Elvis [Presley] all rolled into one, and it’s kind of like, ‘What planet did he come from?’”

The album’s preceded by two singles: “Hang Up” and “I Am My Own Name”.

Lion Tracklist:
01. Hang Up
02. I Am My Own Name
03. Low Tar Stars
04. I’m On Your Side
05. Compression
06. Holy Clown
07. The Rose
08. The Ghost of Shokan Lake
09. Eliza
10. Loctaine
11. Lion

No comments:

Post a Comment