Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Christopher Owens announces new album

CHRIS COPLAN/Consequence of Sound

Earlier this spring, former Girls frontman Christopher Owens previewed two new tracks that were set to appear on the follow-up to his 2013 solo debut Lysandre: the twangy “It Comes Back To You” and the gospel-inspired “Stephen”. Today, Owens has revealed the full litany of details for his sophomore effort: entitled A New Testament, it’s due out September 29th via Turnstile Records. That’s the absolutely amazingcover art above.

In a statement, Owens said, “Every new album is a new testament. It’s a testament to honest, earnest, simple songwriting — ‘three chords and the truth”, songs inspired by the fundamentals of American music–Gospel, Country, R&B, picking the songs for this record was exciting enough for me, because they’re some of the ones that speak to me the most, of my memories, real life experiences, my battles, my victories. But hearing the record actually take form and come to life was even more exciting than I imagined.”

To accompany today’s announcement, Owens has shared another of the album’s 12 tracks, “Nothing More Than Everything To Me”. Whereas its predecessors explored the more mournful side of the country spectrum, Owens now finds himself tinkering around with honky-tonk. The resulting track has the genre’s same sense of rollicking energy and deep-fried rhythms, but infused with Owens’ trademark emotionality.

Watch its accompanying music video below, directed by Max Minghella (The Social Network):

A New Testament Tracklist:
01. My Troubled Heart
02. Nothing More Than Everything To Me
03. It Comes Back To You
04. Stephen
05. Oh My Love
06. Nobody’s Business
07. A Heart Akin The Wind
08. Key To My Heart
09. Over And Above Myself
10. Never Wanna See That Look Again
11. Overcoming Me
12. I Just Can’t Live Without You (But I’m Still Alive)

No comments:

Post a Comment