Monday, July 21, 2014

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ new album Hypnotic Eye

DUSTY HENRY/Consequence of Sound

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers will release their 13th studio album, Hypnotic Eye, on July 29th via Reprise Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full over at NPR.

The follow-up to 2010’s Mojo, the 11-track album was recorded in Petty’s home studio in Malibu. The band has described it as a return to their classic sound from the 1970s, albeit with a slightly harder edge.

“I knew I wanted to do a rock & roll record,” Petty recently told Rolling Stone. “We hadn’t made a straight hard-rockin’ record, from beginning to end, in a long time.” Heartbreakers guitarist Mike Campbell described Petty’s voice during the Hypnotic Eyesessions as reminiscent of the group’s first two albums.

Petty acknowledged the throwback sound, but also stressed that they’ve evolved from those early records, explaining that “it’s that band 30 years later.” He went on to praise the band’s willingness to experiment after all these years, adding, “This band just grows and grows, and that’s an incredible gift, I can’t see us calling it off.”

The album is preceded by five singles, “American Dream Plan B”, “Red River”, “Fault Lines”, “Forgotten Man”, and “U Get Me High”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Hypnotic Eye Tracklist:
01. American Dream Plan B
02. Fault Lines
03. Red River
04. Full Grown Boy
05. All You Can Carry
06. Power Drunk
07. Forgotten Man
08. Son of My Youth
09. U Get Me High
10. Burnt Out Town
11. Shadow People

No comments:

Post a Comment